Tom's BEAST - 9,000 watt DH Bike

lost_track

Just Joined
Apr 9, 2012
London, UK
Happy Easter all :)

First post - regular on Endless Sphere, but first time on here.

This is my first build.

Priorities
Strong, good looking, tarmac shredding acceleration, great brakes, range of around 15 miles without trying to economise, room to expand. Burnouts a plus!

I decided on something really fun to ride - an RC kit (lighter (fewer batteries necessary), better weight distribution, smaller controller, lower (safer) voltage & I actually like the sound they make)

Spec:

• 2003 Giant DH Comp with Fox 40s and Hayes 8" strokers and Magura Gustav M rear. 8" travel front and back.
  • 12S3P Turnigy Lipo (courtesy of Jozztek) @ 50.4V
  • Shumaker DaVinci drive / Astro 3220 4 Turn WYE motor (courtesy of Matt Shumaker)
  • Castle Creations HV160 (rev 2)
  • Custom carbon fibre enclosure (courtesy of MOS furniture)
  • Hyperion 1420i, 1KW Variable Voltage / Amperage PSU
  • Cycle Analyst, Magura throttle, temperature gauges etc.
  • Custom built drivetrain using BMX freewheels, Surly tensioners, custom springs, frame mounts...etc.
  • Custom designed laser cut chainring with keeper plates (thanks BobC)

This hasn't been a cheap build, in time or in effort - I estimate around £4.5k - alot in wasted/un-needed/broken parts. Started in November, thought I'd have it finished in December, it's finally rideable now and it's April.

(Any way to get these pictures larger?)
beast.jpg
This is the naked bike

beef-small.jpg
This is the bike today

IMG_1423.jpg
In the snow!

IMG_1425.jpg
Snow 2

dash-small.jpg
The sort of power it's capable of. These are peak values, off road of course.
250*50=12,500 watts. Most of the hard acceleration only gets to 5-6kW, every possible setting is dialled down to the minimum at the moment.

batts800.jpg
I am battery phobic and hate wiring, have never soldered. This was a learning process!

business end.jpg
The business end

side view.jpg

68 tooth.jpg