Battery drains fast!

goral

Pedelecer
Jan 20, 2024
I have a question relating to the battery.
I am concerned about it draining quite quickly.
I have no e-bike experience and perhaps this is the correct symptom.
Well, new kit, it is about 2/3 weeks old, due to the poor weather I have not been able to test it properly yet.
Before I rode out I charged the battery to 100%, (the battery is a 52V 20Ah) rode about 6 miles the battery indicated 99%-100%, after a few days I rode for about 10 miles and the battery dropped to 50%.
While driving the battery was able to drop from 97% to 65% only to return to 90% after a while.
The effect is that I now have 50% after 17 miles.
I have only charged the battery once, is this a normal effect, and should it be like this, or start the warranty procedure?

Thanks.

saneagle

Esteemed Pedelecer
Oct 10, 2010
Telford
Well, new kit, it is about 2/3 weeks old, due to the poor weather I have not been able to test it properly yet.
Before I rode out I charged the battery to 100%, (the battery is a 52V 20Ah) rode about 6 miles the battery indicated 99%-100%, after a few days I rode for about 10 miles and the battery dropped to 50%.
While driving the battery was able to drop from 97% to 65% only to return to 90% after a while.
I have only charged the battery once, is this a normal effect, and should it be like this, or start the warranty procedure?

Thanks.
It could be normal. How much current are you taking from it?

thelarkbox

Esteemed Pedelecer
Aug 23, 2023
oxon
Whats the bike, 52v? do you mean a fully charged 48v battery perhaps?
16 miles unassisted riding on a very heavy fat bike might drain that sort of power from a battery it depends on the terrain too?

if your bike display shows an indication of watts expended (a number with a 'w') take note of this when the bike is working hard.. as it will help with a back of an envelope calculation of expected range from your bike/battery under load.

goral

Pedelecer
Jan 20, 2024