Swytch Battery Questions

Bikes4two

Esteemed Pedelecer
Feb 21, 2020
Havant
  • A friend with a Swytch Bike made the fatal mistake of not charging the battery over the winter and now it won't charge up and pressing the battery level button doesn't illuminate any LEDs
  • He has asked for my help - I'm no novice with ebike batteries having built three of my own, but this is my first encounter with the Swytch Battery
  • In the pic below I've labelled the six connector pins 1 - 6: pins 3 and 4 are the charger +ve and -ve connection points respectively - what are the other 4 pins for please - PAS and Display I'd guess?
  • The voltage on pins 3,4 is 17Vdc
  • More importantly, what is the best way to get into these packs so I can investigate further?
Have others encountered the same issue and managed to resolve it? If I can get into the pack I'll check out the individual cell voltages and take the problem from there.

Many thanks

PS - I understand there are several generations of Swytch Bike - any idea what generation this battery is from?

59328 59330

Last edited:

saneagle

Esteemed Pedelecer
Oct 10, 2010
Telford
The middle two are for the charging the outer ones need to be bridged have to be bridged to complete power out the circuit. There's a thread from a few moths back that gives the exact details.

This might be it:

Last edited:

Cisco-man

Esteemed Pedelecer
Sep 27, 2023
The middle two are for the charging the outer ones need to be bridged have to be bridged to complete power out the circuit. There's a thread from a few moths back that gives the exact details.

This might be it:
Not quite. Ignoring the charge “O and D” connectors in the middle, the outer flat pins are the battery outputs, and the inner pair of flat pins are shorted together by the yellow connector plug to turn the pack on.

Cisco-man

Esteemed Pedelecer
Sep 27, 2023