Jorvick trike electrical problems (inrush?)

Clivington

Finding my (electric) wheels
Jul 8, 2024
Hello all! I'm new to this forum and totally new to electric bikes so please bear with me. I'm a retired electronics engineer who's into cycling. I offered to help a friend with her Jorvick trike which she uses because she's unable to walk without support. I don't know the model or year but I suspect it's maybe five+ years old. Mechanically it's pretty horrible and electrically it seems to use generic Chinese components. She tells me that it's had a new motor and I'm guessing that the display and controller will have been changed at the same time. The battery is original and everything went fine for a few months after the replacements. The fault now is that the thing doesn't turn on reliably. Sometimes it does, and it works every time, so it's difficult to demonstrate the fault. Other times it constantly fails. It doesn't give her any confidence to use the trike because if it fails (eg when going shopping alone) then she's stuck.