Hello, and my first conversion, any advice please.

Brian_S

Finding my (electric) wheels
Jul 2, 2024
Hello good folks,

After some intensive research on an e-bike conversion I though it would make sense to join a good forum.
Originally from the Midlands, now based in Cheshire, and work in the electronics industry.

Looking to convert my old Cube XMS120, 26 inch wheeled mountain bike, as its been sitting there for a while and I'm not good at selling things, plus I like to tinker. Additionally, I dont think I'd be happy with 250W.
My other half is about to purchase an Ampere as it the best we could find for someone just shy of 5ft tall. So I need to get a move on.

The brief is I'd like an all rounder with a good range, nothing serious in any particular category.

I've done a lot of browsing re hub moto versus direct drive and feel like I'm going round in circles now, So I'm 99% committed to getting a Bafang 750W with a 20Ah 48V battery, just need to get the template and check the 20Ah will fit as it looks quite tight. I've done most of the other measurements and it seems possible for my Cube XMS.

On the basis that I do this, I'd be very grateful if I can get some help here to get me started:
  1. Are all the 750W Bafangs programmable and is the software easily available, the supplier I am considering is showing an updated version with a better curve. Im not sure how many variants there are of this 750W motor
  2. I am thinking Hailong max 48V, 20Ah, is this a good choice
  3. Any recommendations for supplier for these kits, or individual components, the supplier I am considering has 100% feedback and gave me a very fast reply and good information. Electric Bikes Home - https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/394892367306
  4. I'm thinking of getting the 500C display
  5. Anything else important to consider around the above kit choice that Ive not mentioned