Cycling technique Ezee Sprint

Jeanette Morgan

Pedelecer
Nov 29, 2006
CORNWALL
Whilst commuting I normally need to get there as quickly as possible, consequently I tend to use the throttle on my Ezee Sprint quite a lot, mostly in Pedelec, and using the gears, lots of hills!, My question is, will this cause the motor to wear out more quickly? I try to vary the amount of throttle rather than keep it at full all the time in the thought that the motor would be working at different rates and not stuck in a groove (I am not technical and don't really appreciate how a motor runs).

Thanks for your views
Jeanette

allotmenteer

Pedelecer
Nov 21, 2006
Aldershot, Hampshire
I try to vary the amount of throttle rather than keep it at full all the time
Jeanette
As far as I'm concerned my throttle only has two positions - on and off.:D I don't think I have enough self-control to limit my use of it. I'm considering replacing the twist grip with a switch or button (when I learn enough about how to wire it up).:confused:
Paul

flecc

Oct 25, 2006
No, you won't harm the motor Jeanette. Turning down the throttle can extend the range a bit, but the bike is quite strong enough to stand running at full speed all the time. Electric motors tend to be most efficient at their fastest rotational speed.

nigel

Esteemed Pedelecer
Nov 18, 2006
Nigel

I find
with the torq during a journey sometimes i pedel with power of or if there is a slope i will use half throttle if it is not to steep. I have not been up any steep hills as i know the torq dont like them:p :) :D

Sarah

Finding my (electric) wheels
Mar 20, 2007
Sprint 7 - to buy or not to buy?

Hi