Brompton electric conversion - what's the best kit?

lori_m

Just Joined
Oct 25, 2022
Looking at conversion kit options for a Brompton C-line folder. I'm aware of the Woosh kit which looks good but are there other options I should consider? Low weight is important for me as I may have to carry the bike short distances on the tube and whatnot. Range is less important as this will mainly be used for quite short runs (<10 miles). Many thanks in advance for any suggestions.

p.s. I have already done a search and read a few threads but there seems to be a lot to consider and I'm not an ebike expert!

StuartsProjects

Esteemed Pedelecer
May 9, 2021
I only have experience of one conversion kit for the Brompton, the old style Swytch. I dont have a problem with it, not sure if others have tried it. Easy to do.

Battery\controller removes easy which reduces the carrying weight a bit.

If your really concerned about the carry weight, the new T-Line Titanium Brompton with the new lightweight Swytch conversion would be silly light, 9kg ?

Bonzo Banana

Esteemed Pedelecer
Sep 29, 2019
I keep seeing Brompton hub motors for sale on ebay, official Brompton hub motors so I feel like the ebike kits are probably a better investment as they often use more generic hub motors that could be replaced later.

I would have a good look on aliexpress to see what is available as well as Amazon and ebay. A quick look on aliexpress shows this but there maybe better options there;

StuartsProjects

Esteemed Pedelecer
May 9, 2021
If my Swytch kit were to fail, I would probably go for the type of conversion posted above, just because the replacement bits are more readily available.

The small 5Ahr battery is enough for most of the Brompton journeys I do. If your going further carry another battery. This approach also has the advantage that you can cycle (?) the batteries and you have a ready spare if one fails for some reason.