Woosh Big Bear Bottom bracket

Benjahmin

Esteemed Pedelecer
Nov 10, 2014
West Wales
The bottom bracket on my wife's 2014 Big Bear LS is making cracking sounds. I'm guessing it needs replacing. The spec tells me it's a cartridge type.
I've never done a bottom bracket before so any help/info would be much appreciated.

Woosh

Trade Member
May 19, 2012
Southend on Sea
wooshbikes.co.uk
it's easy to replace the bottom bracket. The replacement should be a 68x122 bottom bracket.
I usually replace the old one with 68x127 cartridge type so I can replace the old pedal sensor with a left side pedal sensor at the same time.

sjpt

Esteemed Pedelecer
Jun 8, 2018
Winchester
Probably best to search online for YouTube or non-video instructions that suit you best.

One important thing: when you use the crank puller make sure (1) you have removed the crank bolt, and (2) the inner part of the puller is fully unwound, and the puller is fully screwed into the crank. Then screw the inner part of the puller forward to push the crank off. If you omit (1) or (2) you will strip the thread on the crank.

Benjahmin

Esteemed Pedelecer
Nov 10, 2014
West Wales
Thanks Both.
Looking at 68x122 brackets, some are labelled british thread, like this one
others don't specify. Any clues?
Tony, what tool will I need for removal?
As the pas is working ok, am I liable to break it on dis-assembly so needing replacement?

Woosh

Trade Member
May 19, 2012
Southend on Sea
wooshbikes.co.uk
Looking at 68x122 brackets, some are labelled british thread, like this one

others don't specify. Any clues?
As the pas is working ok, am I liable to break it on dis-assembly so needing replacement?
If everything is still working, may be a little sand has got inside the ballbearings on the left and right cups. Did you try to grease it?
Thread: BSA BC 1.37x24.