Alien Titan or Synergie

ebphil

Just Joined
Mar 11, 2008
Hi every one
I am new to this e biking and trying to decide between the Alien Titan and the Synergie Avantie has anyone had any experince of either.
I live in St Albans Herts and intend to commute to Borehamwood approximately 8.5 miles up hill and down dale.

Phil

Anfield800

Finding my (electric) wheels
Feb 28, 2008
Hi Phil,

I've just bought the Mistral which is the one down from the Avantie. I chose it because it's 36v, the Avantie is 24v if I remember correctly.

I love the Mistral and have no real problems with it. I've changed a few things like the tyres and removed the dynamo, but as it is I'm very impressed for the money.

I'll be writing a review shortly but one thing I have noticed is that the Mistral suffers from extreme retardation from the motor when going downhill. That said, it still knocks 6-10 mins off my commute to work, so I still win.

The bike itself is very good, but you do get what you pay for.

Lee

halfmedley

Pedelecer
Jan 2, 2007
With regard to the motor retardation when going downhill, I've noticed that if you can get the bike up to around 25mph (assuming my speedo is accurate), the retardation magically cuts out. However, to get to 20+mph with the Mistral's low gearing does mean pedalling furiously though!

Anfield800

Finding my (electric) wheels
Feb 28, 2008
My only other experience of e-bikes is the ezee Quandos my parents own. They don't suffer from this at all.

Perhaps someone will be good enough to explain it to me ...

Lee

flecc

Oct 25, 2006
The Quando motor is like most internally geared hub motors Lee.