250w vs 500w

Giant Bike

Finding my (electric) wheels
Sep 12, 2024
Why come a 500w electric bike does the same speed as the 250w but the 500w isn't allowed on public highways?

I am new to electric bikes as I am yet to buy one.
I have been looking at 500w electric bikes which are coming upto £3,000 I am worried I would get the bike took off me by the police for using a 500w+ electric bike.

Thanks.

Az.

Esteemed Pedelecer
Apr 27, 2022
Plymouth
I have been looking at 500w electric bikes which are coming upto £3,000
£3000? Illegal e-bikes are usually quite cheap. Which specific e-bike you have in mind?

I am worried I would get the bike took off me by the police for using a 500w+ electric bike.
Then buy 250W bike. Surprisingly 250W motor can be more powerful than 500W.

Az.

Esteemed Pedelecer
Apr 27, 2022
Plymouth
If you are looking for ready made e-mtb, then this Bergamont is a real bargain.

Last edited:

nigelbb

Esteemed Pedelecer
Sep 19, 2019
If you are looking for ready made e-mtb, then this Bergamont is a real bargain.
I hear alarm bells.

Please note: Price is for bank transfer payment only. (Trade sale!)

Please note: No refunds or exchanges - please make sure you order the correct size or contact us for help.

sneggysteve

Pedelecer
Oct 29, 2020
I hear alarm bells.

Please note: Price is for bank transfer payment only. (Trade sale!)

Please note: No refunds or exchanges - please make sure you order the correct size or contact us for help.
Really odd that - Damian Harris in Cardiff well respected and established shop - unless their site is being used for a scam?

Peter.Bridge

Esteemed Pedelecer
Apr 19, 2023
Really odd that - Damian Harris in Cardiff well respected and established shop - unless their site is being used for a scam?